Dying soon

What if you know that you only have 1 year left to live, nevermind if it’s the doctor or the fortune teller, but given that you know this is a very real possibility and reality, what would you do?

What would you change in your lifestyle today?

How would you change your priorities?

I’d say blessed is the man/woman who can say

“I’d not change anything because I’m living life to my max right now and even if I die tomorrow I’d still not do anything differently today and can die with no regrets” – that’s true blessedness.

I can’t say the same for myself. In fact I think there’s a lot of things I’d like to change for myself.

And what about you?

My point is, even if you are not dying in one year, if you know there are things that you would do differently,

why not start re-prioritising today?

Life is so fragile, the highway is such a dangerous place, you hear of roadkills everyday. Who knows?

Why not start living with no regrets today, as if you will be dying in 1 year’s time?

Have you made your will?

Have you made enough financial planning for your family?

Have you set things right with your brother?

Is it still important to hold that grudge against that friend?

Time to take that retreat you never got around to?

Somethings you’ve never said to your loved ones?

Some personal mottos for you

“Live with no regrets”

“Make a difference everyday”

These are some personal mottos I’ve try to live by, albeit with not much success.

Time to re-think, re-prioritise, re-live, at least for me.

14 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Life, Must read!, Notes to You, Personal, Thoughts, Work

14 responses to “Dying soon

  1. DK

    I don’t know leh. If I really left with 1 yr to live, I might just go out and commit all kinds of crime like robbery, murder and rape. Since death penalty means nothing to me anymore.

    Hahaha…. just some wild ideas. 😛

  2. xinyun

    guess we could do this:
    forgive every tom, dick and harry whom pissed us off.
    take up all kinds of courses you are interested.
    sell your possessions and backpacking round the world

    😀

  3. Wow, that is so inspiring!

    I have no idea what I will do if I have only a year to go on. But in truth, you are not the only one who have so little time left. It is written, “for in just a very little while, He who is coming will come and will not delay.” which means all of us need to really think about this too.

  4. It’s one year to live, not leave! 🙂

    Another great post by the way. In fact, Steve Jobs also said something also these lines. He said he wakes up everyday, looks into the mirror, and asks: if this is my last day today, how would I live it? And then he lives it.

    For me, if I lived everyday like it was my last day on Earth, I would be broke within a week! 😛

  5. Great post! We should live each day as if it were the last day of our lives.

    =)

  6. @DK – serious ah.. you don’t seem like that type leh

    @xinyun – wah… take up all sorts of course and then still travel round the world… hiong leh.

    @Cheng Leng – thanks and glad you were inspired.

    @Yee Hung – yes thanks! Sorry about the typo, I wrote it in such a rush didn’t really proof read it. Edited already.
    Thanks for your insightful comment. I have a friend, American, who moves around the likes of Steve Jobs, and every morning he wakes up and says “Today is a good day to die!” Which took me by surprise at first, but made so much sense as I pondered about it.
    And, before you get broke, go get a credit line 🙂

    @nay min thu – thanks for your comments, glad you liked the post hope it helps you to re-prioritise :p

    Someone suggested that I should start this as a ‘meme’. LOL

  7. Definitely rape all the pretty girls! Die lo. Nothing to lose what.

    Haha. Not exactly actually. Live by your principles still. I’ll go to HEAVEN!

  8. @Ethan – wa lao… heng you added “Live by your principles still” lol glad you know where you’re going!

  9. Do as many good deeds as possible so as to lengthen your life, some example of positive thinkers had lengthen their life.

  10. Good questions, everyday think deeply what are the best causes you can encourage others and help others to grow and achieve happiness.

  11. Good question and tips, HighwayBlogger. For me, I’ve set my goals but haven’t started doing most of them. So, perhaps I simply need to stop waiting and ACT NOW.

  12. @ClappingTrees – so glad you found the post useful 🙂

    @HenryLeong – I agree, thanks for dropping by with your thoughtful comments!

  13. Pingback: My life is shaking together with this building right NOW « Highway of Life

Leave a Reply

