And we thought Singapore taxis were bad

Been really busy and focusing more on my tech blogs, surprisingly the readership for this blog has been up even though I hardly update. So sorry my dear readers – I will do my best to update this blog more often!

Anyways, I’m in Hanoi now and just wanted to have a quick gripe about the horrible taxi situation here in Hanoi. And I thought Singapore was bad.

Here, a simple journey of say 3-4km costs like S$10. The meter ticks at S$0.10 every 10 metres. One U-turn is like 50cents SGD.

This is based on my few experiences with the cabs here which I hailed from the streets.

Seriously… how do people survive over here?

See my gripe at CNET Asia about the internet connection here… zzz

Having made all these gripes, I do think Hanoi is a much nicer looking city compared to Ho Chi Minh (with the exception of their upmarket District 7)

1 Comment

Filed under Notes to You, Thoughts, Travel, Work

One response to “And we thought Singapore taxis were bad

  1. when is the last time you take a cab in singapore?

    hey hey… nice of you to drop by. Actually not that often. But most recently when I took a cab to the airport and back. I know what you’re saying, Singapore is almost just as bad. But trust me, Hanoi is worse. And if you told me it’s London or New York, ok. But, it’s Hanoi??

Leave a Reply

